Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    142
    Member #
    1945
    My CPU usage is at 100% when I have only three windows (I.E.) opened.
    I have a firewall and an active spyware remover program on the background.

    Using WinXP Pro with the latest service pack and updates.
    What could be using all the CPU resource?

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member splufdaddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,488
    Member #
    735
    Task manager will tell you. With the task manager open, go to the Process tab and then View > "Select Columns" and check "CPU Usage". This will put a column in there that tells you what percentage of the processor each program is using.

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    142
    Member #
    1945
    I been checking that and System is using up 75~95 and System Idle Process 23~3 equivalent. Strange.

    What is Microsoft up to with my personal computer?.

  5. #4
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    System Idle Process should be at 90% or so for most of the time... that means that your system is "idle" (not doing anything). If your System Idle Process is only at 23%, you're in trouble... the fact that System is using so much processing doesn't bode well. It might be that your processor isn't fast enough to handle XP? Any idea what speed it is?

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    142
    Member #
    1945
    Using a 1.4Ghz Athlon chip.
    Could that be it?

    And my Performance CPU Usage was at 100%, making all my applications slow.

  7. #6
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,656
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    137 times
    Performance CPU Usage doesn't make your PC slow, it's just a measurement of your CPU Usage. That's like saying your temperature is making your temperature high.

    1.4 is plenty. Your active spyware remover program is probably doing it. No real need to have one running actively. It's enough to just check every once in awhile, i.e. when you shut down. Kill the spyware, then check your usage.
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com

  8. #7
    Junior Member lonepine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    14
    Member #
    3176
    Do you have Kazaa? Even when it is not running, there is some sort of evil P2P thing that runs independantly of it. I uninstalled it ::grrrrrr:: cause if that.

    Also, I sometimes have a prob with windoZe update which seems to want to run in the background if I tell it to "remind me in 4 hours" or whatever.

    lonepine


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:08 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com