Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #

Client's existing site hacked. Should I work on it?

I'll start with a disclaimer: I'm a beginner WP designer. So please be patient :-)
    I'm supposed to build a new WP site for a client. They only jpg image in place now. After receiving WP login info and ftp access to client's existing site from his IT consultant, I used google webmaster tools and found out that it was hacked. Months ago! There was a folder with 5000 spamy files there. Apparently nobody knew about it. The IT guy did move the site from Windows to Unix yesterday, but he copied all old files as well.
    I read this whole article from google about all the steps required after a site is hacked, so it looked like a serious issue to me. I asked to switch to a host which would offer better security, but they declined. So I asked the IT consultant to reinstall WP, delete all old files and change password - basically take ANY steps to prevent hackers to get to the site again.
    He told me to just delete the spamy files through FTP and change my own password. Is this safe? Can there be malware left there as well. I don't even feel comfortable connecting through FTP. Am I paranoid? And if I build the site, and it will get hacked again - then it will be my problem... Should I even start the project.

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times
    The IT guy is probably partly right. Delete the files. Whatever the hacker left is probably in there, and unless you need the files there's no point in leaving them on the server for the hacker to play with.