Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: How do you figure out how much to charge clients for design/hosting?

Member #
    Liked
    1 times

How do you figure out how much to charge clients for design/hosting?

I guess I don't have the business mindset as I usually "feel bad" when asking someone to pay for something even if it means a loss on my end.

I am not quite ready to be a full-fledged business offering services as I am a 1 year LAMP developer and have to touch up on topics such as ecommerce and RESTful services / mobile applications.

Anyway, I was almost scammed one day on craigslist regarding a web design job to make 33 pages at a cost ranging from $3,000.00 to $11,000.00 this seemed absurdly high seeing the comparison website. I checked an online web design cost-approximation tool which said that a 33 page would cost roughly $7,000.00 which seems ridiculously high to me, then again, I haven't timed myself in creating 33 pages for a new website.

So, how do you go about pricing web design and hosting? For the hosting aspect, I would be renting from a large company and placing the client's website on a shared server via virtual host.

I'd appreciate any input.

Member #
    Liked
    544 times
    Quote Originally Posted by GreenAce92 View Post
    I guess I don't have the business mindset as I usually "feel bad" when asking someone to pay for something even if it means a loss on my end.

I am not quite ready to be a full-fledged business offering services as I am a 1 year LAMP developer and have to touch up on topics such as ecommerce and RESTful services / mobile applications.