Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Liked
    1 times

How long to establish yourself as a web development business, can you go solo?

Freelance probably comes to mind.

My target goal is in 4 months.

I guess I don't really know how this sort of business would work, I imagine what you would want is an ongoing thing, not just "build this site, paid once, no more money" eg. hosting and upkeep.

My monthly expenses is around or at least $1,200.00 a month, I wonder if I could start to make that.

I'm a self-taught LAMP developer, but I recently took this test for a potential job as an entry level web developer and it tested on HTML5, MySQL, and PHP. I failed miserably. I told them "Yeah, it's pretty clear I'm incompetent." As I haven't used HTML 5 at all, and don't use MySQL outside of PHPMyAdmin eg. bash querying not querying through a php-file.

Anyway, I do have a lot to go, while I can build websites, I don't know everything, I just know the surface of stuff here and there. Basic stuff, account creation, inserting data, domain mapping, recalling, barely know pagination, haven't worked on RESTful yet, but I can't develop a mobile app yet either, touched on that.

I guess I'm trying to hope, that I can make it in four months but I highly doubt it and should look at a new job, currently working as data entry and I absolutely hate it. Only reason I haven't left is for fear of going to anything worse eg. dish washing or making pizzas (what I was doing before).

I'm not a very good people person face to face, so the business of walking door to door and trying to get someone to have me build them a website...

I think I will start attempting to freelance first, although last time I tried, I was met with a lot of competition.