Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Vapr_Arts
  • 1 Post By Vapr_Arts

Thread: What's the Process?

Member #

What's the Process?

I am searching Upwork for a web developer to create a website for me. I am curious what the process is typically like for a web developer.

I currently have a domain. It is hosted by GoDaddy. How do you go about getting the website onto the domain? Meaning, is it customary to give the developer access to your account some way(non-administrative) or do developers typically create the website locally and provide the files which you would upload yourself?

Thank you for any help!

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times
    Typically, there is no typically.

As a developer, I usually create the website locally and then upload the files to the server as I complete them so that you wouldn't have to get involved. You'd have to give me access in order to do that, but that's my usual process.

Two things I'd suggest:

1) Don't host on GoDaddy. The reason...they lose files that hosts should never lose (e.g. databases).
    2) Make sure you actually need a developer and not a designer. There's a difference. The very oversimplified definition (and someone will inevitably take this out of context and get angry) is that designers come up with pretty stuff and developers get it to work.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

Member #
    Liked
    544 times