Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Liked
    544 times

(Random discussion) Robots are taking over!

In my public speaking class today we had a person come up and discuss how computers/robots are slowly taking over. He went on to say that there is no industry that is safe. He challenged us to think of a career that would not be effected by this. Even going as far as saying that robots could build the robots just as cars are built on a line.

The challenge was rhetorical and as bad as I wanted to raise my hand and bring up the fact that as a programmer I feel pretty safe in the fact that a computer/robot is very unlikely to make my job obsolete.

Just was curious on others opinions and perspectives on this. No real point I am trying to make just shoot the breeze (as my dad would say) .

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times
    I've heard this argument before, but not in the context of a technological discussion. It's one of the arguments used to justify a basic income, among other things. The idea is that we'll end up in a postcapitalist society where labo(u)r is no longer necessary, but we'll still need money to survive.

Personally, I'm with you, only I'm even more confident in my stance than you are. Please note that this is strictly my opinion, and I have run this opinion by absolutely no one else until now.

There's a very simple reason why we'll never get to that point: we're human. Ultimately, everything that is built, even when "automated", has a human element associated with it. That means two things: