Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By TheGAME1264
  • 1 Post By Ronald Roe

Thread: Work office(or work at home) environment, memorizing? Tools? books? Typing skills?

Member #
    Liked
    1 times

Work office(or work at home) environment, memorizing? Tools? books? Typing skills?

Hi guys,
    I have some newbee questions, I've recently restarted learning to code(JS, HTML4, CSS) for web design. With a goal of getting work, in the next 6 to 12 months, I've got the basics(I believe) of HTML5, and CSS, and getting started on JS, I'm studying(self study, via YouTube, w3 School, and getting some books), about 4-6 hr. almost, every night. I believe, I can get a solid online portfolio up, over the next 6 months,. But, having never worked in an office environment before, I'm lost. I'm hoping I can get some work at home jobs, but if I have to go to an office, I have questions about how to work, so here goes.

Do you need to memorize all the code you've learned?
    (Seems to me, no one can memorize, every spec of code, but I could be wrong)

Do you keep books, sites, tool, etc. on hand at your office? Do bosses/manager, allow, require, frown upon such tools?

What about typing skills, do I have to type a certain number of words, per minute?
    (Seem, I'd have to keep up a certain pace, but since code, can be kind of tricky, maybe, I just need a decent pace?)

Thanks for any help, Scott

Member #
    Liked
    2769 times
    I work from home, so I'll answer the questions based on the times I've had to work with agencies.