Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #

Advice for a newbie with a non tech background looking to dive into programmig

Hi all. I am new here and I need your help or advice.
    I am planning to start learning programming over the coming months, end of the summer. I am coming from a non technical background. I am not mathematical in any way.
    I'm self learning just the basic markup language HTML and CSS. I am not a expert in any way but I have the basics learned pretty well and I have a solid understanding. What interests me more is the backend structure of websites or applications and their behavior and interactions with users as to why actions are preformed or how actions can be improved in the backend for better user experiences.
    I was considering a bootcamp most of which focus on Ruby, 8-12 weeks which I am starting to turn away from due to advice I got but I am still considering two different courses. They are Europe based as am but I might add that I will be moving country as well.
    One is a 9 month long course. There are 6 modules each with 4 separate lessons. 1.Web development 2.Mobile development. 3.Software Cratsmanship 4.User experience 5.Agile 6.Big data. Within those I will be learning Java backend, Spark Java, Angular Jquery MySQL, along with mobile development, data engineering, data science the list goes on. It is fairly robust 9 month program, Monday to Friday 9am -1pm The total in class hours works out at roughly 650 hours.
    The second course is only 4 months in duration focusing on Java along with javascript, json, html,css etc. Monday to Friday 9am-5.30pm roughly 6 hours of classes a day over the course of 4 months roughly 480 hours.