Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32
  1. #1
    JR
    JR is offline
    Senior Member JR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,354
    Member #
    257
    I am having problems with control panel in Windows XP. I can't open power options or my network properties, which means that I can't see how much battery time I have left, or what networks I am connected to or anything as the network/battery icons have disappeared from the system tray.

    I doubt anybody will know the answer to this, but the person who finds me the right info that leads to it being fixing will get the 30TD.

    Thanks
    JR

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member justlivyalife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    2,871
    Member #
    2374
    Hopefully this link will give you a little bit of help JR for the power options setting.

    http://www.annoyances.org/exec/forum/winme/t1072391591
    justlivyalife - The future depends on what we do in the present. (Mahatma Gandhi)
    WDF Resources: WDF Rules
    Non-WDF: JavascriptSource | Dynamic Drive | phpBB | HTML-Kit | Winamp | Download Firefox | Morguefile

  4. #3
    JR
    JR is offline
    Senior Member JR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,354
    Member #
    257
    I have already read that, but in his case the power options isn't in CP, in mine it just won't open. Thanks anyway
    JR

  5. #4
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,656
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    137 times
    System Restore man
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com

  6. #5
    JR
    JR is offline
    Senior Member JR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,354
    Member #
    257
    Too much arseing around
    JR

  7. #6
    Senior Member justlivyalife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    2,871
    Member #
    2374
    With some systems there is a way to do system restore, without removing any user files etc. I know I can do this on my Advent PC...
    justlivyalife - The future depends on what we do in the present. (Mahatma Gandhi)
    WDF Resources: WDF Rules
    Non-WDF: JavascriptSource | Dynamic Drive | phpBB | HTML-Kit | Winamp | Download Firefox | Morguefile

  8. #7
    JR
    JR is offline
    Senior Member JR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,354
    Member #
    257
    How?
    JR

  9. #8
    Senior Member justlivyalife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    2,871
    Member #
    2374
    I have a boot CD i got from Advent, and when you insert it, and the windows system boots from the disk, there are two options, one is to reinstall windows, erasing all files completely, and the other is to do the thing I explained above. The 2nd option worked for me when I had a problem on my PC a while ago...
    justlivyalife - The future depends on what we do in the present. (Mahatma Gandhi)
    WDF Resources: WDF Rules
    Non-WDF: JavascriptSource | Dynamic Drive | phpBB | HTML-Kit | Winamp | Download Firefox | Morguefile

  10. #9
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,656
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    137 times
    That's NOT system Restore. That's something completely different.
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com

  11. #10
    Senior Member rosland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,944
    Member #
    2096
    If the the power option controller still resides on your computer somwhere (and it most probably does), try to bring it forward by typing:
    powercfg.cpl at windows command prompt (win->start->run).

    After bringing up the dialog box, you can tick off the 'always show in taskbar' or similar option.

    Equivalently:
    ncpa.cpl to bring up the network connections dialog box. There you can rightclick and select properties from any displayed connection.
    S. Rosland


Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:33 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com