Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: IE is a POS !!!

  1. #1
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    New Software!!! MS-POS !!!

    No, not Point-of-Sale.... the other POS.

    IE decided to stop working on me today.
    I open it and it locks up.
    I try to close it, it stays frozen.
    I end the task... nothing.
    End the process... nothing.
    Try to shut down the computer.... nothing.
    Kill all my svchost processes to screw Windows into a reboot...
    It does the 60 second countdown... nothing.

    Bleh... I'm now typing this from Firefox - my NEW browser of choice.

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    I do hate IE now. On my desktop (not my laptop because screen resolution is too valulable and it is only a P3-850), I have permanently switched to FireFox.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,274
    Member #
    4362
    I get a better screen resolution efficiency with Firefox than with IE. Get the breeze skin for it.
    And when you have more than 3-4 windows open of IE it just get slooooow.

    Although, I don't get with Firefox so much screen effiency as with Opera, where the statusbar automatically hides when the page is done...

  5. #4
    Senior Member DanielOliver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Cornwall, England.
    Posts
    1,202
    Member #
    1879
    I use firefox now. It's very much so worth the loading time in my opinion.

  6. #5
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    Only nice thing that I miss about IE is the built-in FTP. Now I'm gonna have to get some other FTP utility or use command line (bleh).

  7. #6
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Originally posted by xarst
    I get a better screen resolution efficiency with Firefox than with IE. Get the breeze skin for it.
    And when you have more than 3-4 windows open of IE it just get slooooow.

    Although, I don't get with Firefox so much screen effiency as with Opera, where the statusbar automatically hides when the page is done...
    For some reason, themes never work for me. I install them, restart, and they don't show up in the Themes list.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  8. #7
    Senior Member DanielOliver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Cornwall, England.
    Posts
    1,202
    Member #
    1879
    That's strange, I have never had that problem. I just clicked get new themse within the options and just followed the instuctions and opened anything that was chucked at me.

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,274
    Member #
    4362
    Yes, same for me.
    Maybe reinstalling should work, or take a look in c:/document and settings/<you>/apps/firefox/themes or something like that and remove all the themes and install again.

  10. #9
    Senior Member glyakk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,263
    Member #
    3828
    Liked
    6 times
    My biggest beef with IE is it does not support fully png's yet.. although all the other major browsers have for years, including IE for MAC and AOL that is based on IE.

    And when I get the occiasional warning dialog

    explorer.exe has generated errors and will be shut down
    that i get at work.


  11. #10
    Senior Member DanielOliver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Cornwall, England.
    Posts
    1,202
    Member #
    1879
    I only use ie to check my site's now, or if I'm in a real hurry. But at least 50% of the time is freezes and I just have to leave it untill I have to shut down my computer. Half the time it doesn't close down correctly so I just have to hold in the power button.


Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:53 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com