Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,274
    Member #
    4362
    I restored from my hibernation, when a message box appers telling me that "/??? is corrupt, run chkdsk". I run it and it just delete all files that were corrupt, without telling anything.

    I have very important data to recover, is there any program other than FileRecovery ?(I get an access violation when running it)

    Plzzz

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Have you searched for undelete utilities? There is little you can do overall, though. My first 20 GB HDD died a miserable death with Windows demanding that I run chkdsk but it would not help; if the errors persist, particurally after a reformat, buy a new hard drive ASAP.

    Be sure to run chkdsk with the /F flag and to run it on all drives.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,274
    Member #
    4362
    I give it up... I have tried a bunch full of different recovery software and I've only recovered stupid useless things...
    I will have to buy a new drive, but I don't have the money now. It is a pretty good Western Digital 40 GB drive.
    I did run chkdsk with the /F flag, and now I have nothing.

  5. #4
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    My dead hard drive (the only one to die of...natural...causes...a power surge is the suspected cause of death of another old hard drive) was also a WD drive, albeit a Dell OEM. Fortunately they replaced it and the new one is running fine.

    Always use NTFS, although I've gotten errors on that as well.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,274
    Member #
    4362
    I use NTFS always, its' way better than FAT32.
    I wish I had warranty, my PC is home-made. - almost everything bought in a computer show and-.
    It's not complaining now anymore at least...


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:18 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com