Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Firefox

  1. #1
    Senior Member tekp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    A small village near a small city near a small cit
    Posts
    918
    Member #
    4667
    Liked
    1 times
    When I try and open Firefox sometimes it tell me:

    Code:
    The file /content/editor.xul could not be found. Please check the name and try again
    What's wrong?
    tekp :cheeky: tekponline.com

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Try reinstalling.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  4. #3
    Senior Member tekp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    A small village near a small city near a small cit
    Posts
    918
    Member #
    4667
    Liked
    1 times
    I have but it gives me the same thing.

    It happens when:

    I have Apache running "in console", i try to view a .php file located at "http://localhost:8080/index.php".
    It comes up with a box saying "You are trying to open this file, whatdya wanna use to open it?" etc.
    Then I clicked "PHP file (default)" or something and it said that message.
    tekp :cheeky: tekponline.com

  5. #4
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Apache isn't set up properly if it's asking you that.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  6. #5
    Senior Member tekp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    A small village near a small city near a small cit
    Posts
    918
    Member #
    4667
    Liked
    1 times
    no, sorry, Firefox asked me. Apache was happily running in the background athrough all of this.
    tekp :cheeky: tekponline.com

  7. #6
    Senior Member Brak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    3,413
    Member #
    1217
    Liked
    2 times
    Exactly - you need to configure apache correctly - it's not parsing php files if it's giving you that.
    Kyle Neath: Rockstar extraordinare
    The blog | The poetry site | The Spore site

  8. #7
    Senior Member james's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    364
    Member #
    1352
    Here's a quick test, what does a different browser do with a file containing:
    PHP Code:
    <?php phpInfo(); ?>
    ? If you get a properly formatted page FireFox is doing something odd, otherwise its apache.
    I'm leaning towards Apache not configured properly.
    James H
    Home Page · Mars Page · www.fihsf1.net (formerly www·fihs·net)

  9. #8
    Senior Member tekp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    A small village near a small city near a small cit
    Posts
    918
    Member #
    4667
    Liked
    1 times
    i tried going to http://localhost:8080/index.php in IE too (using winxp pro) and it came up with the "page could not be displayed" crap.

    Ill go through httpd.conf.
    tekp :cheeky: tekponline.com

  10. #9
    Senior Member justlivyalife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    2,871
    Member #
    2374
    Have you installed phpMyAdmin as well? If so, go to http://localhost/phpmyadmin and see what page you get? Also try going to http://localhost/index.php without the ':8080'. That has worked before... though it sounds like an error in your Apache installation.
    justlivyalife - The future depends on what we do in the present. (Mahatma Gandhi)
    WDF Resources: WDF Rules
    Non-WDF: JavascriptSource | Dynamic Drive | phpBB | HTML-Kit | Winamp | Download Firefox | Morguefile

  11. #10
    Senior Member tekp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    A small village near a small city near a small cit
    Posts
    918
    Member #
    4667
    Liked
    1 times
    i havent installed phpmyadmin.

    now all thats happening is Firefox pops up with

    Code:
    The file /content/editor.xul could not be found. Please check the name and try again.
    when I try to go to a .php page.
    tekp :cheeky: tekponline.com


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:21 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com