Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Senior Member rosland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,944
    Member #
    2096
    One of my stationaries EATS network cards. I have no idea why. Everything is running at default speeds (not overclocked), all bus speeds are set properly (PCI running at 33MHz).

    My third card just died. I've changed PCI slot each time I've put in a new one. All other PCI components work flawlessly. Also the ones I have moved to slots previously occupied by now faulty network cards.
    (built the machine 5 years ago).

    Any ideas/suggestions to what might be causing this?
    S. Rosland

  2.  

  3. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    8
    Member #
    5466
    I have tried differnt cabling/diffeent network port on the hub/switch ?

    Martyn

  4. #3
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    The motherboard could be delivering too much voltage. The other cards might not care.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  5. #4
    Senior Member rosland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,944
    Member #
    2096
    Originally posted by filburt1
    The motherboard could be delivering too much voltage. The other cards might not care.
    Any way I could adjust that? Only options I've seen for voltage control (in BIOS) is incremental adjustments within a narrow range, for the CPU. That one's set to factory specifications.

    With regard to cabling, I've changed those a couple of times apparently to no avail.

    I might just capitulate, and by a new motherboard (which also would constitute a change of CPU/RAM). Don't know if there's gonna be any money left after the taxman has taken his.
    S. Rosland

  6. #5
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,657
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    139 times
    Try a different port on the hub / router / whatever. Are all of the cards made by the same manufacturer?
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com

  7. #6
    Senior Member skrlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    562
    Member #
    1063
    Maybe try updating your pci or mobo drivers? Check www.windowsupdate.com under drivers or the motherboard manufacturer's website for recently updated driver releases.
    - Brian

  8. #7
    Senior Member ironhacker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    872
    Member #
    3483
    Liked
    1 times
    Maybe the cards you're buying are deffective. I suggest you buy a Intel, they are very strong and if it burns I don't have a clue.

  9. #8
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,657
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    139 times
    Drivers wouldn't cause physical damage. Yes, it's theoretically possible, but I've NEVER heard of it actually happening.
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com

  10. #9
    Senior Member rosland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,944
    Member #
    2096
    Tried different ports. Even changed the whole router at one point.

    Machine has been continously updated with latest drivers. BIOS on MB been flashed twice to latest versions at the time.

    All cards inside are from different manufacturers. If you meant the network cards themselves, I've tried different types as well. Latest version was a Jensen, which was supposed to be of high quality.
    S. Rosland

  11. #10
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Maybe you just have an evil touch.

    It could be your power supply as well. You never want to skimp on price on a power supply.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:39 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com