Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Senior Member ironhacker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    872
    Member #
    3483
    Liked
    1 times
    Does a PC eat a lot of electricity?

    There are a lot of debates out there on that question but I still don't know who to believe. Some say that the average is 100W others say that it's the same as the power supply, mine's 300W.

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member glyakk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,263
    Member #
    3828
    Liked
    6 times
    It depends on what you are running at the time.. but your system does not run at 300w all the time. that is just how much your PS can handle. Lets say my car is rated at 180 Horse power. That does not mean that everytime i press the gas that all 180 of them ponies are galloping. But at a certin rpm they can be.


  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,274
    Member #
    4362
    Yeah, I visited a site that calculated more or less your MAX power rate, but I didn't bookmarked it.
    Anyway, what more watts takes is the monitor, especially if you have a 21" and a white desktop. (black areas are unscanned if colors are set up correctly).

  5. #4
    Senior Member ironhacker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    872
    Member #
    3483
    Liked
    1 times
    But the page you visited is for calculating if the power supply is going to manage all of your hardware, not the wats that it will work on. My monitor is 19", but I turn it off when I'm gone.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,274
    Member #
    4362
    Yeah, of course, but if in place of putting all your hardware you only put the hardware that is permanently on (HD, MB, CPU/FAN, Network card...) you can get a idea of it. Yes, the best way to save energy is to set the monitor to stand-by when you are around 5 minutes away

  7. #6
    Senior Member ironhacker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    872
    Member #
    3483
    Liked
    1 times
    I've done that..like it went around 100-150W running non-stop.

  8. #7
    Senior Member Brak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    3,413
    Member #
    1217
    Liked
    2 times
    Multiply it out then, power usage is billed in kilowatt-hours.

    (Your Energy Usage)*(Hours on Per month)/1000 = KWH usage. Then go look at your electricity bill and you can see how much it uses
    Kyle Neath: Rockstar extraordinare
    The blog | The poetry site | The Spore site


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:18 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com