Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hi, I have been working on websites off and on for about 6 years now and I am about to turn 17 in September. In the beginning was the old school AOL hometown (or whatever it was called at the time) web wizards. Then Geocities page builders where I began to dabble in HTML. Final over the past two years I have began strait HTML and programs such as Microsoft Frontpage. I like to begin my pages with Frontpage until I have the layout I am looking for then fine tune it with HTML. Of the strait HTML and Frontpage sites I have done, I have never had a domain due to lack of cash. But now that you know my background, maybe I can get some help with some problems.

I have been wanting to put my web designing skills to the test and use them to make some money. I know I should start a portfolio first but the question hangs in the air, "Is a teenage web designer going to be taken seriously?". I know some people from school who teach adults simple computer use for pocket change but I am not one to teach, I am one to sit down and design and work for hours. Is there a way for me to make any money Web Designing at my age?

A friend of mine heard from somewhere that some companies will have high school student work as web designers and help them pick up clients for a share. Some companies even offer scholarships and jobs after college. Is this just a lie someone spread to my friend or is there some truth behind it?

What other computer languages and programs should I learn along with HTML? I have experience in Adobe Photoshop and Image Ready.

Can someone help me out with what I need to know before getting a job? Along the lines of pricing, finding clients, how much income to expect, if I have to pay for the domain (I am guessing not).