Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    This has been a puzzle to me since i got interested in web design. I'm relatively new to web development and coding so pls bare that in mind when replying.

I have read that using tables for layout is technically the wrong way to add content to a web page and that something like 70% of websites are impractical due to this.

I can design anything in photoshop regarding web layouts and i know how to optimize images. Its just when i slice it and open it in dreamweaver, i don't know how to add content, and even if i could, how to position it wherever i wanted without the whole layout screwing up like it normally does.

Can someone please give me some pointers or link me to a tutorial on this subject. I've searched far and havn't found specific info on this.

Ta in advance :>

p.s are sigs allowed?

Member #
    IMO, that thing about tables being the wrong way to add content and that 70% of web sites are impractical due to it - complete rubbish! Anyway, to the subject in hand.

You could use table rows, columns e.t.c and set the content thing as a background and make it so that if it expands, it won't mess up the layout.

Alternatively, you could try using table rows, colums e.t.c, but on the content area, make a layer the same size as it, and make it scrollable. You'll have to use exact positioning (enter: gylakk ) for it to work though.

There are 2 ways I can think of. Also, I'm sure you can find some stuff on the internet about this, how much searching have you done?
    Rednerve
    Creative Freelance Design

Member #
    asdf

hmm...i'll have to try and figure out how to do that, thanks for the tip :>

Member #
    Liked
    6 times
    It shoulds like you are going about this a bit 'sideways'.