Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hi, I am very new to web design and only learned about HTML within the last week. I have read all the tutorials and understand HTML well at this point and am getting better at JSP and php so that I can eventually create a dynamic site. I am using Dreamweaver to do all this and am having some trouble. I need to create a horizontal table at the top and two vertical tables on both sides with the body of the site in the middle. My problem is; the side table does not want to have anything next to it. The type immediately starts below the table and typing above it only results in the table moving down the page (keep in mind this is in Dreamweaver). I figured out I could handcode around this by creating a giant table in the syntax:

HTML Code:
    <TABLE BORDER=3>

<TR>
    <TD ROWSPAN=2>links</TD>
    <TD COLSPAN=2>heading</TD>
    <TD COLSPAN=2>body</TD>
    </TR>
    </TABLE>
    This is fine for a simple homepage, but I want to implement a news posting system in the middle with the tables on the sides. If Im not making much sense here, I basically want a layout similar to that of http://gtagaming.com.

So my questions are:
    • How do I keep the side tables locked so that I can edit the center of the page without having to only type above or below the tables?
    • What should I use to create that news-post system like in the link I gave?
    • How should I go about implementing that in my Dreamweaver design layout?

Thanks, and sorry for being a complete idiot with this stuff

Member #
    We all have to start off somewhere right?