Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Menubars...

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    45
    Member #
    7875
    What's the best way of creating a vertical menubar without using frames. I want to creat something like this: http://www.corefm.net that when I edit the menubar, it applies to all pages.

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member karinne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Aylmer QC Canada
    Posts
    1,607
    Member #
    4335
    Liked
    8 times
    [a web design portfolio - Currently NOT AVAILABLE for work | web design | Re-coding | PSD-to-HTML]
    I'm also on: virb - facebook - twitter - flickr - del.icio.us

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    45
    Member #
    7875
    Ok thanks, is there a function on dreamweaver that will let me create it without having to use code - because that looks extremely hard. All I know is very basic html.

  5. #4
    Senior Member Physt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    255
    Member #
    6655
    If your server lets you use PHP, then all you have to do is make an HTML file with your menu, and then call it using the include function..
    So here is your index.php:
    Code:
    <html>
    <head><title>Title</title</head>
    <body>
    ...header content...
    <? include("sidebar.html") ?>
    ...content of site...
    </body>
    </html>
    Hope this makes sense to you.. It barely makes sense to me as I described it.
    www.controlalternate.com - Web resources and free templates. www.chaosconcepts.net - Custom web and graphic design.
    www.blog.chaosconcepts.net - My Blog

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    231
    Member #
    1169
    If your going to use PHP, which is very easy, be sure to save the page your including the header on as .php like index.php

  7. #6
    Senior Member karinne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Aylmer QC Canada
    Posts
    1,607
    Member #
    4335
    Liked
    8 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Ovie
    Ok thanks, is there a function on dreamweaver that will let me create it without having to use code - because that looks extremely hard. All I know is very basic html.
    well then... time you start learning more that basic html

    ssi and php are both extremely easy... the link i gave is a tutorial. it's the same as with php:

    1. you put your menu in a separate file. call it what you want: menu.ssi or menu.inc or menu.html ... the extension doesn't matter
    2. to put the menu in your page you call it like this
    Code:
    <!--#include virtual="menu.ssi" -->
    3. make sure you rename your file that contains the include to .shtml

    also... before you do all that... like php, make sure the server supports ssi's

    that's it
    [a web design portfolio - Currently NOT AVAILABLE for work | web design | Re-coding | PSD-to-HTML]
    I'm also on: virb - facebook - twitter - flickr - del.icio.us

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    45
    Member #
    7875
    Ok thanks for the tips

    My server will let me host php and I guess you're right, I should try some of the more difficult stuff.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:27 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com