Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hello, all! Thank you for viewing my post.

I've been designing web pages for a little over 2 years now, mainly developing websites (between 3 to 5 pages) for family/friends and creating auction templates for eBay powersellers using HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. I use PhotoShop and ImageReady to create graphics.

About a month ago, I began targeting my web design/development services to small businesses and private organizations, and yesterday, I received a phone call from my first potential client that wants me to develop a 15 to 20 page website for an online vacation company. The problem is that I've never developed a 15 to 20 page website in my life, but I know that devoting alot of my time and work, I can do it. We (my client and I) have not yet discussed any details about the upcoming project. This will all be discussed tomorrow. The short-term project will begin on Monday, 11/15/04.

These are my questions:

Does anyone know where I can find a good sample web site design contract?
    What should my client and I discuss before I start working on the project?
    Would it be better for me to charge an hourly rate or a flat rate fee? If an hourly rate, how much should I charge?
    How much should I charge for web site maintence. hosting & SEO (novice in these areas)?

This phone call caught me a little offguard because I did not expect to receive project like this so soon, but I'm sure that I can get the job done.

I have more questions, but I believe I'll easily find the answers to them throughout my work on this project. I pick up on things very quickly.

Thanks in advance for your opinions and advice.

~*"As a woman thinketh, so is she."*~ designdiva

Member #