Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Senior Member zeroskater88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    RI
    Posts
    391
    Member #
    682
    Hey guys, I need to have my left column of my site being updated all the time, so instead of having to redo every page of my site, I decided to add a frame, but I forgot how "bad" frames are, so I need to add a div, can someone give me the code please?

    Thanks.

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member wizdude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    125
    Member #
    8139
    isnt it just a div align left "whatever pixels".?



    check out my sites:

    BNSAL: www.bnsal.com
    WIZDUDE: www.wizdude.com


  4. #3
    Senior Member zeroskater88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    RI
    Posts
    391
    Member #
    682
    I dont know, thats why Im asking. Ive been doing a full time programming job so web page design knowledge has been pushed out of my head since then.

  5. #4
    Senior Member Shani's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,140
    Member #
    8171
    I ::think:: "align left" will affect the text inside the box NOT the actual positioning of the box, but I'm just learning CSS for layouts. Instead you would want to position: left=0 pixels. <could be wrong>

    Also, the rest of the layout will probably be affected by the area on the left, so those properties will also have to be affected.

    Short term: you could use a table and put a div for the left part inside the cell (to avoid converting the rest of the layout).

    It may also be helpful to see what it is you are working on.
    Shani

    I have an eye for detail like you'd never believe.

  6. #5
    Senior Member karinne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Aylmer QC Canada
    Posts
    1,607
    Member #
    4335
    Liked
    8 times
    frames aren't "bad" they have their use...

    anyways... to have a scrolling div it's simply

    Code:
    <div style="overflow: scroll; width: 200px; height: 200px;">...</div>
    more on overflow

    hth
    [a web design portfolio - Currently NOT AVAILABLE for work | web design | Re-coding | PSD-to-HTML]
    I'm also on: virb - facebook - twitter - flickr - del.icio.us

  7. #6
    Senior Member Physt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    255
    Member #
    6655
    I think you also might want to look into SSI or PHP includes.. They are invaluable when you have a site that updates often.. Divs don't really do anything in your case.. They are just to hold info.. Like a td.. I'm sure you could find some great info in the PHP section of these forums if you need to learn about PHP includes..
    www.controlalternate.com - Web resources and free templates. www.chaosconcepts.net - Custom web and graphic design.
    www.blog.chaosconcepts.net - My Blog

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    67
    Member #
    8452
    Liked
    1 times
    PHP includes are awesome.

    HTML Code:
    <div>
    <?php include ($con); ?>
    </div>
    If you put that code in index.php and you want menu.php, then do this:
    http://www.mysite.com/index.php?con=menu.php

    Or you can just do this:

    HTML Code:
    <div>
    <?php include ("menu.php"); ?>
    </div>
    Also, if you want the include to be required (it will generate an error if it doesn't point to anything. this will prevent people from doing anything you don't want them to), do this:

    PHP Code:
    require ($con); 
    Brian : This must be the physics department.
    Chris : That explains all the gravity.

  9. #8
    Senior Member Physt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    255
    Member #
    6655
    Don't do the first 1 he said.. People could potentially hack you that way.. The include("filename") way is the safest, as far as I know .. I thinnk squeaky wants to hack you! <shifty eyes>

    www.controlalternate.com - Web resources and free templates. www.chaosconcepts.net - Custom web and graphic design.
    www.blog.chaosconcepts.net - My Blog

  10. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    67
    Member #
    8452
    Liked
    1 times
    lol

    nah. I like the way I do it (I use it for my site) since it's usable with links. Security isn't really an issue, since you can see the hierarchy with a site not using it anyway. The variable just make it dynamic.
    Brian : This must be the physics department.
    Chris : That explains all the gravity.

  11. #10
    Senior Member Physt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    255
    Member #
    6655
    http://s95291230.onlinehome.us/msp3/...osconcepts.net

    Now imagine what you could do with a clever Javascript
    www.controlalternate.com - Web resources and free templates. www.chaosconcepts.net - Custom web and graphic design.
    www.blog.chaosconcepts.net - My Blog


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:59 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com