Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Liked
    2 times
    I've seen a few people mentioning this kind of topic lately, so I decided to share my experiences. First off, I am a Web Producer (Implementation of Web Sites) at Web Associates. Our client list includes companies like: Apple, ESPN, Disney, Hewlitt-Packard, Rambus, Philips, The Tennis Channel, and most recently Quicksilver. How did I land this job? Did I wait years in queues of resumes? No, I was simply asked to join.

Granted, I was lucky with my job. I happened to come across the benefit of living in San Luis Obsipo, a very small town - that just happened to have one of the largest Interactive Agencies in the US. I didn't know they existed until they contacted me.

Now, in order to get jobs like this you need to influence Art Directors. An Art Director is the person in charge of the creative department at any interactive agency. Here's a great article on making friends and influencing Art Directors.

The bottom line is: Your portfolio is your job. Spend more time on it than anything else in the world. If you're looking for a job, you should never stop working on your portfolio. Constantly update it, add detailed analysis of your works, and make sure it looks amazing. Art Directors don't read resume's, they look at portfolios - then read your resume to learn more.

When writing a resume, be sure to include results, not education. Don't say things like "Took this class in XML" say things like "Can create XML powered applications (see example here)" An example is worth a million words. Scratch that, a million words are nothing in the web business. Remember, it's about results - not education.