Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    i'm just starting out with site design, and would like to know how to make my images scale up or down automatically with different screen sizes.

i have designed the site with frames at first because i have to have an area centered on the page that can scroll several pages of info.....but i am learning how this is possible using tables and divs.

problem is, i created an 800x600 graphic that i sliced up in fireworks to create the page. i want everything to appear within that page, without scrolling down forever---and to keep the navbar always accessible. when i check out my site using any other screen size, i either get partial images, or ugly gaps between them.

i am using dreamweaver to build the site. and am trying to test it on angelfire (but it doesn't load right!?) please check it out if that helps to answer my question.

www.angelfire.com/az3/solverstechline

thank you in advance!!

Member #
    Welcome.

One of the first things I learned with using a graphics program's html generator, is that it generally doesn't work well. In other words, there are always weird rendering issues when I add content, like spaces and general disorientation. I make my slices and then rebuild the layout in dreamweaver.

Frames=bad.

It sounds like you want an area in the middle of your layout with scrolling capabilities. You can do this with divs. It looks like you'll want a repeating background until you get to the bottom, and then another box with that information.
    Shani

I have an eye for detail like you'd never believe.

Member #
    Quote Originally Posted by DCScene