Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

View Poll Results: Which is the best programme for designing and maintaining websites?

Voters
18. You may not vote on this poll
  • Adobe GoLive

0 0%
  • Dreamweaver

17 94.44%
  • Microsoft Frontpage

1 5.56%
  • Other (please specify)

0 0%
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Hey! I'm totally new to web design and I'm looking to buy a programme. I have windows ME and a Pentium 3 but am looking to upgrade soon because ME can't support a lot of the better programmes... I'm just wondering, as a matter of opinion, what is the best web design programme?

Member #
    Dreamweaver without question for me. Frontpage chucks out a load of jibberish. GoLive I only tried a trial but didnt get on with it much.

Dreamweaver is very powerfull and it's tool tips in MX 2004 are priceless for me! Especially when it comes to the CSS.

I haven't really pushed Dreamweaver a great deal, but there are some good tools in it and good extentions available. It makes life, working with flash and fireworks better as well.

Member #
    If you are new to web design, and are a hobbyist (ie not making a career out of this, well not yet) maybe you should learn HTML beforehand to see if it intrigues you, and just use a text editor while you do so.

Saying that, theres free trials.
    I dont really use IDE'S, I only use them for applications, so I am unsure.

However, Dreamweaver is the top dog.
    Stay away from frontpage

Member #
    Since I'm a beginner beginner (!) and I learned on Frontpage will I need to learn HTML to be able to use Dreamweaver? Can windows ME support Dreamweaver? Is Windows XP a good idea to upgrade to or should I choose a Mac instead?

Member #