Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    kaz
    kaz is offline
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    5
    Member #
    9019
    Hi all,


    Anytime I ,make changes to my file and I save it to my remote server, Those changes do not reflect. Also, when the server asks me to you to update my links and I click yes, the images disappear. Why is that? help!

    kaz

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,657
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    139 times
    Sounds like Dreamweaver.

    Don't update links. Also, check to see what the ACTUAL links are in your pages. I'd bet they're something like "c:\blah blah\". They need to be normal links.
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com

  4. #3
    kaz
    kaz is offline
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    5
    Member #
    9019
    I did what you suggested. But still the graphics are not showing.

    kaz

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    S.Wales, UK
    Posts
    250
    Member #
    10742
    Can you show us the url?
    Paul Creedy
    Visit my community site at: www.rhonddacynontaff.com
    My hosting: www.rcthosting.com
    My Content Management product: www.dynamiccontenteditor.com

  6. #5
    kaz
    kaz is offline
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    5
    Member #
    9019
    Hi, here is the url for one of the files:
    http://80.88.158.47/nfs/tip.htm. Hope this works

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    S.Wales, UK
    Posts
    250
    Member #
    10742
    This is your problem:

    /graphix/Crest_02.jpg

    This says start from ROOT and work down. However since your file is already in a sub directory called nfs it can't find the image

    Change it to:
    graphix/Crest_02.jpg

    Are you creating it in root locally but then uploading to a sub folder? Check the programme you are using to use relative file linking instead of absolute to root positioning.
    Paul Creedy
    Visit my community site at: www.rhonddacynontaff.com
    My hosting: www.rcthosting.com
    My Content Management product: www.dynamiccontenteditor.com

  8. #7
    Senior Member tha_Gsheep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    188
    Member #
    780
    Can I just say from experience that dreamweavers ftp has been notoriously unreliable. Try manually changing your files with ftp software like smartFTP. I always use dreamweaver to update my files on the local computer (GET) and that seems to work fine, its just the putting files up that causes bother(PUT). Make sure your local directory is reflected on the serverside using a third party ftp program and then update the file with it. I wouldn't invest too much trust in the sychronise button, I always update from different locations and end up copying of new work with old work! Hope this helps.
    www.appletv.co.uk


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:44 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2020 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com