Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    3
    Member #
    11495
    Please go here and look at the site layout:
    http://www.bowdoinhamsecondbaptist.o...group/main.htm
    I have used CSS to create the layout (well i got it from another site) and i need to know how to make the basic frame standard so i don't have to recreate every page, just change the content in the center section. I would like to keep the top, the 2 side navs and the very last box standard, but have the center easily changeable. Is this possible?

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Rince's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    183
    Member #
    8318
    You could use SSI (Server side includes) to re-use sections of code that are repeated on many pages. Have a look at this tutorial http://www.splodgy.com/modules/dokuw...r_side_include

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    24
    Member #
    10286
    It's a site based on Blue Robot! His stuff is good. Make sure to change more of the colors, though--you don't want him to feel like the whole world is copying his site, and you don't want people like me to know that it was just a quick grab-and-go job.

    Server Side Includes, or PHP includes, are the way to go. They're very easy to do, too. Usually it's a single line of code that will import another html file (like menu.html, for example).

    Trust me, you want to do includes. You WILL have changes to make, and you don't want to make them on 142 different pages.
    Get a view of business and web design from a fresh perspective at DiamondLime.com
    Fresh Business Ideas and Web Design

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    3
    Member #
    11495
    Thanks to both of you. I knew there was a way to do it, but i just couldn't figure out what i needed to do as i am trying to learn css. And yes i did borrow it from blue robot. I will make sure to give him credit in the code.

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    3
    Member #
    11495
    SSI were just what i needed. My webhost (d2hosting.com) supports PHP so i used that... THANKS!!!!

  7. #6
    Senior Member Rince's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    183
    Member #
    8318
    It's a site based on Blue Robot! His stuff is good. Make sure to change more of the colors, though--you don't want him to feel like the whole world is copying his site, and you don't want people like me to know that it was just a quick grab-and-go job.
    I though the whole point fo Blue Robot was that people should copy his code. However, i have a different methods of doing my own layouts that doesn't depend so much on the Tantek hack that Blue Robot relies on.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:41 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2020 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com