Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    i'm currently studying home web design course which covers html css(only a 2 page chapter tho!!) java script + asp. now i was speaking to my friend who got employed a year ago and he was head hunted by a company who asked him to apply 4 a job they had. anyway he got the job and he said he new html and css pretty well then and only a wee bit of java script.

now i'm currentlly studying the css part(taken it upon myself to try learn as much css as possible cause i believe it is essential... yes... no??? anyway). will be moving onto java script in the next few weeks.

how much knowledge of other languages should i have of sofware (adobe, etc) before applying for job. is it better to create a decent portfolio???

any tips??

cheers

Member #
    Liked
    137 times
    Wouldn't say it's essential, but it's darn close, and will save you tons of time when coding.
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

Admin at houseofhelp.com

Member #
    It really depends on the jobs you are looking for. At the very least, you should be able to build a basic site. My book of essentials include: graphics production, html, css, javascript.

Truth is you can get away with not knowing javascript, but it's better if you do.

Regarding server-side scripting and other fancier things... these are more important to development and programming jobs, so you can technically learn them later. There are tons of codes, millions even, available for free use until you obtain the knowledge to write your own.

In regards to part two... Graphics production is part of my essential list. Adobe just so happens to be the standard, but you don't HAVE to use it. That's up to you.