Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Hi all,

I've been a web designer for several years now. I also fully code the sites I design, minus any vast knowledge of CGI, PHP, etc. I do use standard HTML (or XHTML), Flash, and full CSS. I'm pretty up to speed on CSS, standards and all, but may be fairly "old fashioned" otherwise:

When I complete a site, almost everything is .html files on an FTP server, which are editable via FTP or GoLive or whatever, saved and/or uploaded. There's a lot of integrated Flash, CGI scripts, etc, as needed, but while I do design the Flash, all other stuff (CGI calendars, site searches, form processing, shopping carts, etc) I just download and customize.

I take a lot of pride in the design aspect above all, my clients are always happy, and I think my sites look good and varied.

I've played webmaster for a few sites (doing monthly updates for clients) and others are sort of static, rarely-changing sites. But now I have a couple of clients who want control over constantly editing their own sites -- uploading images, news updates, calendars, other pages. Problem is, like most clients, they don't have great design sense (and NO coding skills) so I don't want them just FTP'ing in and editing the HTML like I might if I was making updates for them. Plus, of course, even if they COULD do that, FTP access to edit your code should never be a place for a client anyway. aranoid:

So I'm sensing a transition from my old-fashioned "FTP-by-myself-and-forget" ways.

I have been reading that CMS is the way of the future (er, the present) but haven't found anything that works for me and the way I design yet.