Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    What brought on this question is the program Ruby, which to me appears to be so complex that I've felt comfortable with my knowledge of Actionscript, CSS, HTML and Javascript. Also, I have a strong desire to learn more about Actionscript, CSS and XHTML. Since Ruby is PHP it is a whole different ball game and now I'm deciding whether I should learn how to program in Ruby or face being shut out by companies or stick to what I know and what I like..the basic "4 Food Groups" of online development. I like using CSS because I'm a graphic designer at heart..heavy programming like C++ is not for me, however I don't want to limit my marketability. Learning Actionscript is great because it goes hand in hand with the motion graphics side of Flash development, another enjoyable skill.

I've learned that Ruby is essential for building applications..but what type of businesses are really demanding developers for online applications? The postings on craigslist has me worried because I've seen companies requesting for job applicants with a "strong knowledge in Ruby, Cake, etc".

Member #
    Liked
    137 times
    Ruby is NOT PHP.
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

Admin at houseofhelp.com

Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    Yes, please don't confuse Ruby with PHP. PHP has a syntax far more similar to C, C++, and Java. Ruby is a whole 'nother ball game.