Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Hi all, ( a very broad question for you )
    Im fairly new to web design - coming from a product / packaging / visualisation design background! I have learnt the basics in a number of areas of web design but rather than go on about what i know i would like to know what you think i need to know? To be able to design the majority of standard websites that you all get asked to design!
    Which areas are most important to you - and why?
    How much programming do i need to learn to build for ecommerce sites / forms / databases / search etc??
    Any great links to tutorials for what you think are important would be great!
    Hopefully other people starting out could use your posts to this ? to help them as well!
    Cheers,
    Edd.

ljm
    Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    It does depend on what you intend to do.

Obviously you need to know CSS and XHTML. Keep up to date on that front, and keep the sites you make up to date with it.

You mention database work and forms, and so on. XHTML can't do this alone, so you need a server side coding language such as PHP or ASP, or JSP or whatever. Personally I'm learning PHP and using MySQL for database work. I can't say if it's the best or easiest option, since I've never used anything else.

I guess it's also good to know Javascript as well, so you can make your pages dynamic on the client side. Scripts coded with a server side language don't run in real time - they're processed only when they're requested by the client. Using javascript, you can use code to check if forms are entered correctly or not, for example. I know nothing technical about this though.