Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hey guys. My name is Adam Iím 16 years old, and I'm from the UK. Just to give a brief introduction. I recently got interested in web design through ICT in school, we had to use FrontPage to create a website. I found it very enjoyable, and wanted to do more. This is maybe why I found myself here today. Anyway I know the basics of html, and I'm still learning through tutorials on the internet.

My main questions are
    • I want to have a website up and running fairly soon, what programme would be best to create a website? And do I need anything else apart from hosting and a domain name?
    • I want to know XHTML, CSS and other languages, should I wait until I know html thoroughly before moving onto further languages?
    • And finally, when I get a website up and running, I was thinking of adding some forum software, I'm lead to believe V-bulletin is the best, how much knowledge of html etc.. will I need to know before adding this to my website, is it possible to have the forum linked with my the website I will be designing or will I have to acquire two separate websites, one for the website and one for the form?
    Sorry for the very basic questions, but sure you have to start somewhere.

Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    Well, XHTML and CSS go hand in hand. You can't do one properly without the other. This is because CSS should be used for visual appearance and XHTML for structure, so without CSS your site will look horrible (or should).

To get a website up and running quickly... Well... I'd advise you learn XHTML and CSS, look for some help, and do it that way. Using programs like FrontPage will only give you horrible code.