Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Wow, going through the forum here has really overwhelmed me. Seeing some of the websites people are making really make me realize how basic my websites are haha. Anyway can anyone give me some basic help as to where to begin learning to make better than basic websites? I have said in a previous post that I have been using Dreamweaver and Photoshop but everything I know is all self taught. Are there any good tutorials that can teach me the basics to advanced of these programs? Or is this the way to go? Help Please Help!!

Thanks
    JohnnyFever

Member #
    Here are a few links to start ya off:

http://www.w3schools.com/css/default.asp

http://www.wpdfd.com/editorial/basics/

http://www.webdesignfromscratch.com/css.cfm

All of these pertain to CSS, and I am assuming that having designed websites for a while that you have a basic knowledge of HTML. There are tutorials here at WDF, on both HTML and CSS, as well as all over the web (Google is your friend).

If you still need help, then we are here!
    Portfolio | Blog | Twitter

Was my post, or someone elses, helpful? Click the thumbs up to let everyone know!

Member #
    Liked
    720 times
    At some point, you'll want to get into dynamic pages instead of static pages.
    You'll want to look into some PHP and/or PHP/MySQL tutorials.

But learn your basics ... HTML, XHTML, CSS

Dreamweaver is OK, but don't be afraid to hammer out your own code
    using Notepad. The WYSIWYG programs seem to add a lot of unnecessary code,
    making it difficult to troubleshoot problems.

Member #
    Liked
    8 times