Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Okay.... believe it or not I've been working on my site for a year now... and have never finished it. It's been through 4 different design phases, and none of them got 50% finished. I just flat out need help.
    First off, I'm a newbie here and this is my first post. YAY!
    Secondly, I'm a graphic artist, but most of my experience has been in vector graphics, and just getting into print (thus raster images and graphics). Web stuff just makes my head spin.
    www.jjwdesigns.com is what I have now. I know, it's pathetic, but if anyone has any suggestions or tips on ANYTHING... please post.
    I'm off to bed but I'm sure I'll have more questions tomorrow.

Member #
    What is with the lightning navigation? And you have some weird background as well.

Keep it simple, look at what other websites are doing. Just remember that the website layout should be a container for your content. Create a website which helps show your content and doesn't draw peoples attention away from it.

Simplicity is not a bad thing, you don't need to be doing things like the lightning style navigation you have. There are much simpler and cleaner options.

Member #
    Wow, this site needs major work.
    My advice, since you've changed designs so many times before launch, is to go out to template sites or HTML/CSS tutorial sites and get some ideas on something you might like.

You don't have to go mainstream with your designs, and it is clear you have great graphic design skills, but you do need some sort of idea to have a site that looks good, yet still utilizes your graphic design skills.