Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    I'm a relative noob to web design and I need some help. I have designed a site in photoshop and used imageready to create the buttons etc and save the pages as html. I wrote meaningful titles and used metadata tags in my html hoping that they would be picked up by search engines...but... nothing. does anyone have any advice as to what I could do to get my site picked up?

thanks in advance for any ideas

Member #
    Have you submitted your site to any search engines?

Member #
    No. Sorry to be such a noob... but what do I need to do?

Member #
    what the url of you site?

Member #
    Well you could go for the most popular option and add your URL to google.com...

http://www.google.com/addurl/ there are lots of search engines and you can just submit your site to them.

Just realised that you say non-html in your heading. Do you have any html in there or is it all just images.

Member #
    I think maybe the second sentence is the giveaway.
    I have designed a site in photoshop

If the site doesn't contain any real text then there won't be anything for the SEs to index.
    End of Line.

Member #
    Yes, this is the problem... it is all images. the buttons were done with image ready. I will still submit it. I thought that the se's could use the metadata tags i added and the title - although there isnt text in html to pick up? Is this wrong?

Member #
    If you are serious about search engine optimization, you may want to pick up a book and do some readings first. SEO can't be explained in 1 or 2 paragraphs. Submitting to Google isn't going to get your site up to the top.