Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    I am new to web design and I first have general questions. First of all, I am using Photoshop and Dreamweaver. Is this the best combo, or can someone please recommend a better solution? Would you recommend creating all graphics in Photoshop and then placing in Dreamweaver? I also wonder about browser compatibility and HTML vs CSS? I appreciate the help.

Member #
    Photoshop and Dreamweaver are a good combination. You can do all photo editing or creation of simple graphics in photoshop and save them there to use for the web site. If you want to create more complex graphics or illustrations, you'll want to use illustrator or a similar program. there are a lot of issues with browser compatability, but you can avoid a lot of issues by just validating the css and html files using the w3c validators (http://www.w3.org/QA/Tools/#validators). You might also want to check the information in the new Adobe CSS Advisor (still beta - http://www.adobe.com/cfusion/communi...ge&productId=1)
    as it has some useful information regarding known css issues. However, this will not replace testing your site in various browsers...

Hope this helps,
    phoenix

Member #
    HTML and CSS go hand in hand. HTML deals with the code structure, CSS deals with the layout and appearance of the page.

Member #
    First off: Software.
    Dreamweaver is a long-known great application for web design. There's no doubt of that. However, I must recommend you to take a course (or learn from the web) about HTML. Dreamweaver's Design View isn't a good place for a new designer, as no matter how easy it is to use, it's not a good habit to use a What-You-See-Is-What-You-Get application.