Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Question: throughout my college career I have said that I wanted to be a web designer. In the last several years the job descriptions have been narrowed down a little bit, but they are still not standardized from company to company. In the meantime, I've come to the realization that I'm not very good at visualizing something creative, and I hate to code. I like to take other people's creations/ideas and put them together in HTML or Flash. Would you call that a web builder? Are there many jobs out there that would call for this kind of 'building'?

Member #
    Liked
    39 times
    coding is a huge part of web design (at the professional level). I think if you want to make a website for a companies, you are expected to make everything hand coded, all from scratch. You might be able to get away with some stuff like using phpbb instead of making forums from scatch.

It is allow to take some ideas from other websites, but dont copy and paste code. You will get in alot of trouble. Only code you are allow to copy and paste are "open-source" code.

Member #
    well there are two basic jobs in this world... web designer and web developer

designer will 'design' the the look layout colors and typography fo the site (roughly anyway) and the developer will code what the designer has come up with (layout colors, blah blah) along with the brief from the client describing the funtionality (booking system, etc).

i would consider myself a developer 1st and foremost but I have had to study up on typography, color design and layout as I do freelance work and crtainly cannot afford to pay a designer to work for me.

this is a very very rough description and can probably be corrected by others but will give you a basic idea

Member #