Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Thread: Confused!

Member #
    Hey guys, I have been looking through the site for a while now and I realise that a lot of members here are very experienced in web design/ development. I am not, I am just starting out, I have one problem where to start, I am fortunate enough to have programs such as, Dreamweaver mx, Flash mx, photoshop cs and a couple of others, it is just using them that is the problem, and chosing which one to use, I have heard that you can create a website using purely photoshop, but I don't understand how that quite works, I have been told be some people to use dreamweaver, but not to by other people because it apparently is a different html code if you wern't codeing it from scratch.

My goal is in several months down the line I want to have created a website myself codeing it from scratch. To do this I am aware I will have to know some languages, but which is the best to learn I a fairly fimilar with HTML and know a little php, but very basic, so should I stick at html and php, or will I need to know anything else?

Also when codeing your website, do a lot of you use notepad then simply just preview the code on a local host, or which way do you do it when practising and changing your code?

My final question is, how long does it take to become a decent "web designer" I am going to go to university and study computer science with any luck as I want to pursue this as a career, but just one to be one step ahead before I go to univeristy.

Sorry for sounding so vague, I am new to most of this
    Thanks, Adam.

Member #
    Liked
    39 times