Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1
    Member #
    15090
    hello everyone, ive been trying to design a website using fireworks, dreamweaver & a little bit in frontpage...but when try to view it in the browser, a yellow toolbar pops out saying "allow active content"...does anyone know a script or anything on how ill get rid of that toolbar...coz it doesnt display my page correctly, the rollover effects, the flash content does not display, not unless i'll click that yellow toolbar and click the allow active x content...i am hoping that you could help me with this ne...thank you...^_^

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Steax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Bandung, Indonesia
    Posts
    1,207
    Member #
    14572
    Well... the warning is there for a reason. It can be dangerous for some scripts to be run. I really don't see why you need an ActiveX object in your site (nor why you should make navigation in images, nor why you should have flash content, nor why you should even use frontpage - but that's a different story).

    What ActiveX object do you need? If it's absolutely essensial for a certain functionallity, you can just pin a little notice near your object that says "please enable ActiveX to use this tool. Our privacy policy". The privacy policy or some other statement is useful because nowadays on the web a lot of people don't trust ActiveX objects (and they have a very good reason to do so).
    Note on code: If I give code, please note that it is simply sample code to demonstrate an effect. It is not meant to be used as-is; that is the programmer's job. I am not responsible to give you support or be held liable for anything that happens when using my code.

  4. #3
    Senior Member -chris-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    SK
    Posts
    1,205
    Member #
    13102
    The ActiveX warning is due to the fact that you are probably using FrontPage navigation buttons. Get rid of those navigation buttons and your ActiveX warning should go away.

    Once you get rid of those buttons, get rid of FrontPage and use Dreamweavers code view for your project.
    Portfolio | Blog | Twitter

    Was my post, or someone elses, helpful? Click the thumbs up to let everyone know!

  5. #4
    Senior Member karinne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Aylmer QC Canada
    Posts
    1,607
    Member #
    4335
    Liked
    8 times
    Quote Originally Posted by -chris-
    Once you get rid of those buttons, get rid of FrontPage and use Dreamweavers code view for your project.
    YES YES YES YES YES YES! :glasses:
    [a web design portfolio - Currently NOT AVAILABLE for work | web design | Re-coding | PSD-to-HTML]
    I'm also on: virb - facebook - twitter - flickr - del.icio.us

  6. #5
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    22 times
    FrontPage uses custom, proprietary ActiveX controls just to create navigation buttons? Holy freaking s**t. It is now banished from the league of even tolerable web design tools.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  7. #6
    Senior Member -chris-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    SK
    Posts
    1,205
    Member #
    13102
    Quote Originally Posted by filburt1
    FrontPage uses custom, proprietary ActiveX controls just to create navigation buttons? Holy freaking s**t. It is now banished from the league of even tolerable web design tools.
    You didn't know that? It has different sets of navigation buttons built in (like Dreamweaver). They are simple to use/add, but require the ActiveX control to work right.
    Portfolio | Blog | Twitter

    Was my post, or someone elses, helpful? Click the thumbs up to let everyone know!

  8. #7
    Senior Member karinne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Aylmer QC Canada
    Posts
    1,607
    Member #
    4335
    Liked
    8 times
    At least DW uses JS ... I think ...
    [a web design portfolio - Currently NOT AVAILABLE for work | web design | Re-coding | PSD-to-HTML]
    I'm also on: virb - facebook - twitter - flickr - del.icio.us

  9. #8
    Senior Member leprechaun13's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Northampton
    Posts
    487
    Member #
    10058
    wow never knew frontpage was that bad, although I knew it was a no no to use it
    Regards Phil,


  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    Yeah, Dreamweaver uses Javascript. Which is rather sad, considering how easy CSS rollovers are nowadays...


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:20 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2021 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com