Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    hey, im just beginning to open the door to internet languages and web design. It seems very confusing on what to use php, xhtml, html, css, xml.....ect. But i am thinking of a career in it. It just seems to me that you wouldnt be able to make a stable income on web design. If you are a proffesional web designer or just a free lance web designer post your thoughts and opinions I would really like to hear them

Member #
    Liked
    22 times
    It'll be risky, more work, and possibly more rewarding to be freelance. You're safer working for some decently established (i.e., in business for several years with several employees) company.

I work for a company that's been around for seven years with 12 or so employees now as my primary source of income.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

Member #
    The thing with web design is that you're always forced to be on the cutting edge. Every day new sites with new ideas are popping up, new techniques and styles designed, and new communities and organizations founded. If you're willing to spend half your worktime catching up on the constantly evolving world here, that's great. Even formal education is often lacking when it comes to actual productivity.

I'm very young (16) and have worked for a year or so. So far I've got enough money that might keep me alive in my own, but I do understand that joining a company (or even better in some conditions, joining up with fellow designers and making a company) can be better.