Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    25
    Member #
    14413
    Afternoon all,
    My first web site all up and running with 2 slight issues.
    Im getting a scroll bar appear at the bottom of the page horizontal. I have used tables and my table is only 880 pixels wide - i get the scroll bar no matter what res i use. Its only there when i view the site online?
    I pay for hosting btw but for some reason cannot view my sorce code? im not using frames but the sorce shown when i do a view sorce mentions frames are they putting a frame around my whole site that is throwing the whole thing out?
    Im only using IE to look at the site at the mo but have noticed my intro page/homepage dosent work at all with mozilla.
    Sooo have a look if you will peeps and let me know if u spot anything obvious.
    www.ukselfdefence.com
    If using Firefox
    www.ukselfdefence.com/index1.html because the into(index.html) wont display anything in firefox!
    Code fro the intro - hope im ok to paste in here!
    HTML Code:
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN"
      "[URL="http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd"]http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd[/URL]">
    <html xmlns="[URL="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml"]http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml[/URL]">
      <head>   
      </head>
      <table width="880" height="1024" border="0" "center">
        <tr>
          <td align="center" valign="top">
    <!--[if gte IE 6]><script language="javascript">document.write("<NOSCRIPT class=clickfix><OBJECT style=\"display:none\">"); </script> <!--<![endif]-->
    <object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="[URL="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=7,0,19,0"]http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=7,0,19,0[/URL]" width="900" height="540" align="middle" title="intro">
            <param name="movie" value="latest_test3.swf" />
            <param name="quality" value="high" />
            <embed src="latest_test3.swf" width="900" height="540" align="middle" quality="high" pluginspage="[URL="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer"]http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer[/URL]" type="application/x-shockwave-flash"></embed>
          
    </object>
    <!--[if gte IE 6]></OBJECT></NOSCRIPT><!--<![endif]-->
    </td>
        </tr>
      </table>
      
    <script language="JScript" type="text/jscript" src="<A href="http://scripts.ediy.co.nz/scripts/ClickFix.js"></script">http://scripts.ediy.co.nz/scripts/ClickFix.js"></script>
    </body>
    </html>
    Thanks in advance everyone
    Harv

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,973
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    760 times
    That scroll bar has to do with your webhost and is related to the
    fact that you can't view your HTML. They are putting your site
    inside some sort of frame that is causing the scroll bar.

    You might want to also try "transitional" instead of "strict" ...
    Use Google to research DOCTYPE.

    Who is your webhost? I think you have some issues to deal with (with your host).


  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    25
    Member #
    14413
    Thanks very much i thought it was and just needed to double check with one of you on here...
    I am hosted with easily.co.uk and i pay about 25 ish a year i thort the deal was good as there was no pop up ads etc but im having second thorts now!
    Ill let you know how i get on - thanks again

    H

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    25
    Member #
    14413
    Also my titles wont display it overwrites anything i put with ukselfdefence.com this must be them aswell as my code is correct im not happy with them altering my work.....it dosent state this anywhere either

  6. #5
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,973
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    760 times
    What they're doing with the frame thing is going to kill your search engine rankings.
    I would suggest writing that one off and subscribing to someone else.



Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:06 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2021 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com