Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Thread: Finding a job?

Member #
    I'm going to be looking for some kind of entry-level web design job soon, hopefully with a design firm and not just an in-house position with a large company. I have a bachelor's degree in one of those 'new media' type programs, though I got started with basic web design while I was still in high school. Not really interested in doing freelance stuff so my 'experience' is mostly limited to what I taught myself & what I learned in college, a few personal sites that I have made for myself, homework assignments, and stuff from a joke "internship" with a company that probably did not survive the 1-year mark. I also currently have a sort of part-time job doing occasional updates to the website of a small company, which I have had for maybe 8 months now. I only know a bit of programming and I'm interested more in the design end of things than the programming end of things.

I'm really wondering if I can actually expect to be hired by anyone, and how much I can expect to be paid if I DO get hired. The only job ads I ever see are for people who have like 5 years of experience, and they never list salaries for them. Where are all the entry-level jobs? Am I am idiot for thinking this is a viable career choice? What do people normally do to get a foot in the door, so to speak?

Member #
    Liked
    22 times
    I have learned (and always thought) experience matters more to employers than education. If you went to a company that does web design and development, would you feel confident showing them a portfolio of past sites you've done or worked on?

Are you looking for small companies and not large ones? The company that hired me is only about 10 employees.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder