Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member kade119's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    532
    Member #
    14888
    Liked
    1 times
    is there a way to test windows IE on the mac? what is the most convenient way to setup crossbrowser testing on a mac?

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    There are services out there that will take screenshots of a site in certain browsers (can't think of a URI right now). There's also Parallels, but that's only on newer Macs. Usually the best thing to do is just to test on a separate Windows box.

  4. #3
    ljm
    ljm is offline
    Senior Member ljm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Manchester, England
    Posts
    284
    Member #
    13684
    Liked
    1 times
    Get a copy of Crossover for Mac , and download an installer for IE6. Looking at compatibility, IE7 isn't known to work.

    All Crossover is is a Mac implementation of WINE. It mocks up a Windows directory structure and provides the necessary libraries needed to run a Windows application. The only prerequisite is that you have to have either X11 installed (it's on your OS X install disc), or the application will copy a file from the second disc. You don't need a Windows install or anything.

    Once you have Crossover installed and set up, just download the IE6 installer from somewhere and run the EXE like you normally would. After that, it's done. Run it like any native OS X app.

    EDIT: There's a wizard in the app to install IE6 for you. I've got a few shots up to show you what it's like...

    1. The IE installer
    2. IE6 in OSX, minus Windows.

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    You might want to make sure, if you have a PowerPC-based mac, that Crossover for Mac runs on PowerPC chips. For the longest time, WINE didn't run on Macs because it used some x86 assembly here and there. If that's still the case, you'll have some trouble running on PowerPC.

  6. #5
    Senior Member -chris-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    SK
    Posts
    1,205
    Member #
    13102
    Portfolio | Blog | Twitter

    Was my post, or someone elses, helpful? Click the thumbs up to let everyone know!


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:31 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2020 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com