Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Good day,

At this time I am just starting out developing web sites.
    What I am wondering is this:
    If I'm using a free host (in this case www.awardspace.com)
    and reserving a domain for the site that I am working on, and only dealing with Javascriptscript, DHTLM and HTML.
    How much should I charge for the fee to build the site?
    And a small monthly fee to update the site?

In anycase
    thank you for your help
    --Joshua

Member #
    It really depends... hosting it wouldn't be very expensive. Your design determines fee, and so does complexity. But about updating... does that mean you do it? Thats not a good thing, really, and can be expensive. If you've got your own host, then just use a server-side language to get a CMS or something.
    Note on code: If I give code, please note that it is simply sample code to demonstrate an effect. It is not meant to be used as-is; that is the programmer's job. I am not responsible to give you support or be held liable for anything that happens when using my code.

Member #
    While there are a number of variables that help determine price, there are really two factors that I commonly see.

1) Is your skill set an ability. The more experience you have, the better your design/development skills, the bigger your portfolio (and showing a wide range of skill set) you can command more of a price when selling your self/services.

2) The other common one is your market. What do you see from other designers who showcase the same skills as you? For instance, in my market you see rates of $45-$65 an hour as an average, yet you drive 40 minutes north and you see $75-$125 prices being quoted (and getting them).