Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2
    Member #
    15484
    I have a page with several pictures, some that over lap, on it. I am trying to get it so when you run your mouse over a picture it comes to the front and enalrges a little bit. When you remove your mouse from it the picture goes back to it's original position and size. I tried doing this with onmouseover and layers in Frontpage2003 but it is not working the way I would like. Any suggestions. Thank you.

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member -chris-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    SK
    Posts
    1,205
    Member #
    13102
    Your first hurdle is to ditch FrontPage, completely. Then you will need to use javascript to do what you are wanting. The onmouseover bit is a step in the right direction, but using FP to do it is two steps in the wrong direction.
    Portfolio | Blog | Twitter

    Was my post, or someone elses, helpful? Click the thumbs up to let everyone know!

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2
    Member #
    15484
    Can it be done in Frontpage at all? The person that I am doing it for wanted it done in Frontpage so they can edit it in the future. If no than what do you suggest I use for a user friendly application so they can edit it themselves after it is finished and still be able to accomplish what I am trying?

  5. #4
    Senior Member tonyf12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    132
    Member #
    14998
    If the code is valid, it will work in Frontpage, all that happens is when they save it frontpage will destroy the code and you can say:
    "It's not my fault. You wouldn't pay for Dreamweaver or another good program (i.e. anything not called Microsoft Frontpage). "
    While if you use frontpage and mess up as YOU used a cheap program they can blame you.

  6. #5
    Senior Member -chris-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    SK
    Posts
    1,205
    Member #
    13102
    Quote Originally Posted by tonyf12
    While if you use frontpage and mess up as YOU used a cheap program they can blame you.
    LOL! If only FP were cheap. If you must have a WYSIWYG editor, then Dreamweaver is the way to go, but only if you use code view (split view if you want to see what is happening as you actully hand code in the code block).
    Portfolio | Blog | Twitter

    Was my post, or someone elses, helpful? Click the thumbs up to let everyone know!

  7. #6
    Senior Member raspberryh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Erie, PA
    Posts
    882
    Member #
    7208
    Liked
    1 times
    You could probably do it with some CSS... Something like:

    HTML:
    HTML Code:
    <a class="enlarge"><img src="..." ... /></a>
    <a class="enlarge"><img src="..." ... /></a>
    <a class="enlarge"><img src="..." ... /></a>
    <a class="enlarge"><img src="..." ... /></a>
    ...
    CSS:
    Code:
    a.enlarge img{
      width: 100px;
      height: 100px;
    }
    a.enlarge:hover img{
      width: 200px;
      height: 200px;
    }
    ...Although w/ this you'd be using the same src for the image as the small and large ones, buts since you said it would only get a LITTLE bigger, that's why I suggested this. However if you want it to get a LOT bigger (like thumbnail vs large images) then maybe you could use lightbox or something... OR, you can use this CSS technique for enlarging thumbnails (I believe this is how it's done):

    HTML:
    HTML Code:
    <a class="enlarge"><img src="(thumbnail)" ... /><img class="largeimage" src="(large image)" .../></a>
    CSS:
    Code:
    a.enlarge img.largeimage{
      float: right;
      display: none;
    }
    
    a.enlarge:hover img.largeimage{
      display: block;
    }
    I THINK that will work, but you might have to mess around w/ the display and float and stuff, to get it to display properly...

    BUT as far as having the client edit it themselves, I don't know, that really limits you as far as coding goes... Then you might have to code up a whole admin or download one or something.
    choosy developers choose gif!
    website | paintings | blog


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

script to enlarge image on mouseover in frontpage

Click on a term to search for related topics.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:02 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2021 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com