Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hi guys, I am an amateur web designer with some minor design jobs in my backpack and I'm looking forward to solving and supplying problems with/to you.
    My first inquiry is about setting up a minor web shop. What I'm looking for here is information about the billing process. I read on some (random googled) forum, that for you to have your own credit card charging form, you would have to hire some lawyer to draw "the legal-document stuff" and essentially validate your shop - before you could use it. Is there any validity to this claim?

I have had previous shops, but then relied on PayPal for the payment procedure. I have recently got a job from a person who wants the basic business-info-site but would also like to offer customers to order a few of her products via the web. Where it stands now is between a simple application that mails her the customers contact and ordering information, then she herself finishes the technicalities of the payment. The other alternative is the one I'm asking about - a form like the ones you bump into in most of serious webshops. So, is this task to big a bite for an amateur webdesigner?

Thankful for any response
    // Hampus Ahlgren

Member #
    Liked
    2 times
    If you're in the United States...

There's few "have to's" with service-based businesses, especially self-owned businesses. Credit card requirements? Definitely not. It is a good idea to keep your business expenses and such separate from your personal finances, but only for reasons of clarity come time you get audited by the IRS. it's fairly painless to open up a business account at a local bank, and they'll give you a debit card you can use to purchase things.