Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    I am a print graphic designer and have just started dabbling into web design. I have successfully taught myself basic html and of course designing the interface. These are two sites that I have done so far www.parplussupplies.com and my personal site www.oliverdesigns.com just to give an idea of the level I am at in the game.

I have a personal project that I am working on and need some advice/help. This site will need a search feature where visitors will search a database and be able to narrow down their search from 1 to 4 variables. Example: search by state or alphabetical order or size, or two or three variable etc, etc.

Is this doable by a novice and if so can anyone give me a basic outline of how this works in terms of how and where do I put the data and possible a link to a code that will access this data. I did a little bit of research on mysql and php but still hasnít grasp it fully yet.

Member #
    Sorry guys my site is actually www.olivergraphicdesigns.com

Member #
    To write a decent search function you require a fairly decent grounding in PHP. Can't you use google site search? Or pay someone with the know how to drum something up for you?

Member #
    It will be a search from my specifically gathered list and details, not a general search. So google woulgnt be ideal.
    Can you or anyone give me an idea of what something like this would cost me for someone to drum up - thanks

Member #
    Creating a search function isn't all that difficult.

// SQL select data from table.
    // PHP loop through data.

If you gave me the tables and columns I could write you a simple search script.

The issue arises on several levels.