Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Between PHP Frameworks, Ruby on Rails, and Python Django?

Which has the brightest future? What is best for an e-commerce and social networking site that needs to be highly-scalable? Which has the most professional, knowledgeable and intellectual developer pool?

DGS
    Member #
    I'd say it's whichever you are most comfortable with and whichever you know how to use best.

Member #
    I'm not a developer, but getting ready to contract an application out and I'm curious what everyone's opinion of the various frameworks are since I am by no means an expert.

Member #
    Liked
    205 times
    On this topic, I am currently developing a PHP framework right now: Transio Framework

A friend of mine is wrapping up his Javascript Framework (don't laugh, it's AMAZING): Golf

I'd say Ruby on Rails, PHP Zend, and Cake PHP are your best bets in terms of existing frameworks for the languages you mentioned. I don't know anything about Python.

For scalability, I'd say Zend. That's what Magento Commerce is built on. Nice thing about Zend Framework is that you can run it on the Zend Platform, which gives significant performance enhancements. Of course, you could run anything on a load-balanced EC cluster and be fine in terms of scalability...

Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    I'd say it really depends how big you plan the site on being.
    Many sites get developed without frameworks.