Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hello,
    I am new at using dreamweaver and I have a question. Lets say I pasted a text document with many paragraphs, links, formatting etc....from somewhere into dreamweaver, and then looking into code section now, which dreamweaver generates itself. How can you compress the text in the code section to have no excessive spacing? I am asking because when I try to copy code and paste into my form, if there is a spacing of 2-3 characters or more, the rest of the text does not go into the form field, and I have to return to that point and hit delete, until the rest of the code text comes close to within 1-2 characters of the code before.

example:
    In the code section assume I have this:
    line 1 <p>text1.................</p> <p>text2..............</p>
    line 2 <p>text3.......</p>

If i did nothing but select the whole code and try to paste into my form, it only accepts up to end of line 1. The rest does not paste into the form after the point of that too many spacing. I now have to go back to the code, put the cursor end of line1, and hit delete, and delete all space chracaters, until text3 comes up and close to the end of text2.

so it becomes like this:
    line 1 <p>text1.................</p> <p>text2..............</p> <p>text3.......</p>

Only then the form accepts the whole selection.

May be you can even do this in MS word after pasting this code to there. I am wondering how though...It is too repetitive and takes time to do this manually, for a large text where there is too much excesive spacing occuring in the code, when dreamweaver generates it.

Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    Ok,

1) Copy the text from your Word Doc.
    2) Right click in CODE VIEW, not design view, where you need the text to appear