Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hi everyone,

I am a web design newbie, but I'm learning a great deal. I have created a homepage from a template I found online. I adapted it a bit to change the colors and add my logo, etc. Here is what I want to do.

I really like this site, http://www.timgossla.com and what he has set up for the portfolio section.

Here is my site, http://www.waldronla.com
    the site is pretty simple and I would like to keep it that way for easy navigation, but I'm afraid that the base area isn't big enough to suit the type of portfolio that tim has. I tried to fiddle around with the css and html code to expand the box area, but am admittedly lost. any insight is greatly appreciated.

One last note, I did find a picture gallery that would suit my needs called simpleviewer, but I am not sure how to embed it into my site structure, especially since the base of my site doesn't seem big enough to accomodate?

Member #
    That site template you are using is a bit different. Same in look and feel but yours has what we call an IFrame. That Iframe isn't the best solution for search engine optimization and it's something I stay away from.

The look you want is very simple. I like it! But what you should do is create the code where you have a header and footer. Then you can insert any bit of code in the middle section you want, ie your simple viewer and it can be applied to the site template, other page content, event calendars etc...

Are you editing the html code for this site or do you have some form of backend / CMS - content mgmt system?
    Brandon Tran - Asheville Web Design

Member #