Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hi guys, it's nice to finally join this wonderful forum.

I'm a cs graduate from johns hopkins and am thinking of making a shift in career into Web Designing. I have some experience back in college in regards to coding, so i think the aspect of web designing wouldn't be too alien to me.

html and css are pretty much the most important things i need to know and master first right? html is a given, but what are some other things that are a must know? A friend of mine mentioned a few things to me such as css , adobe flex, dotNet, Csharp, expression blend, flash/silverlight....

From your experience... what would be your personal approach to learning web desgining? html first of course, then css ? and what next?

Reason i'm asking this is that i know absolutely nothing about any of these products/technology other than html, and i would appreciate it if anyone could point me in the right direction and maybe share some of their experience.

In addition, what are some software you guys would recommend for a web designer? what's a very good html editor, what are the nice tools that i need to acquire.

Finally, does anyone know of any good sites for learning the stuff i need for becoming a good web designer? sites that have tutorials and guides on html, css, or anything that might be helpful for a guy who is just getting his feet wet?

thanks in advance.

Member #
    Liked
    21 times
    HTML and CSS should be learned at the same time. HTML defines a page's structure. CSS defines its appearance.

I would learn Javascript before any Adobe stuff or .NET. Eventually, you'll learn a server-side language like ASP.NET, PHP, or JSP.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder