Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hello,
    I am newly back to web page building and need some input. I am studying my old and new tools (Dreamweaver, Frontpage, HTML and PHP) but it has been a long time and I want to get a site up as soon as I can. It will be a political clearing house and discussion site. If I am lucky my hosting costs will be going up and I have a limited income so I plan to have a very small membership subscription to cover costs. I also would like to add additional services at a later date for a larger subscription, so I need multiple user levels. I would like the subscription/membership to be automated. I have seen many programs that will do this at a great variation in prices. Can anyone tell me what is the least expensive program/script that will do these things? I plan to use it to get the site up and running and later modify it (when I learn how, again) so I need a program I can access and modify. I will learn any language I need for this (have studied C, C++, several basic languages, php, and assembly in the past).
    Thank you.

Member #
    Liked
    717 times
    I'm not sure what a clearing house is, but it sounds a lot like a WordPress site to me.

You would allow people to register, but only you (the admin) could turn-on their
    registration after they pay you the subscription fee.

I think of a site like this:
    http://www.passiveaggressivenotes.com/

Topics and submissions are displayed, and people make tons of comments
    about each one. That whole site is done using WordPress.

WordPress doesn't have to be a blog either. And WP is free, and with some
    webhosts, they will even install if for you automatically (using Fantastico Deluxe).